How Chiefs Stack Up Versus Recent Super Bowl Champs Entering November

How Chiefs Stack Up Versus Recent Super Bowl Champs Entering November
Fact Checked by Nate Hamilton

It’s been another fall to remember for fans and players of the Kansas City Chiefs, who enter their bye week with a 7-2 record and a 2.5-game lead in the AFC West race. The Andy Reid-coached squad also sits atop Caesars Sportsbook Missouri Super Bowl odds board, at +475, ranking ahead of the San Francisco 49ers and the Philadelphia Eagles (+525).  

As K.C. rests up for its Week 11 showdown against the visiting Eagles on Nov. 20, broke down where the Chiefs rank among Super Bowl champs entering November since 2000. Here’s what we found for the current Super Bowl favorites as they look to become the first NFL team to repeat as champs since the New England Patriots did so in 2004 and 2005.  

Recent SB Champs On November 1

Below is some useful information  if you  use Missouri betting apps if and when legal betting comes to the state.

Season Team/Record Result
2022-23 Chiefs (6-2) Still playing
2021-22 Rams (3-5) Missed playoffs 
2020-21 Buccaneers (6-2)Lost NFC Divisional round to LAR (30-27)
2019-20 Chiefs (6-1)Lost Super Bowl to TB (31-9)
2018-19 Patriots (8-0) Lost Wild Card to TENN (20-13)
2017-18 Eagles (4-4)Lost NFC Divisional round to NO (20-14)
2016-17 Patriots(6-2) Lost Super Bowl to Philadelphia (41-33)
2015-16 Broncos (6-2)Missed playoffs
2014-15 Patriots (7-0) Lost AFC Championship game to Denver (20-18) 
2013-14 Seahawks (4-3) Lost Super Bowl to New England (28-24)
2012-13 Ravens (3-4) Missed playoffs 
2011-12 Giants (6-2) Missed playoffs
2010-11 Packers (7-0) Lost NFC Divisional round to NYG (37-20)
2009-10 Saints (5-3)Lost NFC Wild Card round to SEA (41-36)
2008-09 Steelers (5-2) Missed playoffs
2007-08 Giants (6-1) Lost NFC Divisional round to PHI (23-11) 
2006-07 Colts (7-0) Lost AFC Divisional round to SD (28-24)
2005-06 Steelers (2-5) Missed playoffs
2004-05 Patriots (4-3) Lost AFC Divisional round to DEN (27-13)
2003-04 Patriots (6-2) Won Super Bowl over CAR (32-29)
2002-03 Buccaneers (4-3) Missed playoffs
2001-02 Patriots (3-4) Missed playoffs
2000-01 Rams (7-1) Lost NFC Wild Card round to NO (31-28) 

Chiefs Fit In Line With Recent Champs Entering November

Since 2000, reigning Super Bowl champions have had a 121-51 (.703) record, averaging out to 5.3-2.2 over 23 seasons, which is slightly behind the Chiefs’ current 6-2 mark for the season. Of the last 23 Super Bowl champs, only one has gone on to repeat (New England in 2005), though four reached the Big Game before falling and another (the 2014-15 Patriots) reached the Conference title game.  

Otherwise, the most common pitfalls for recent champs have been the regular season, with eight teams missing out on the playoffs altogether, and six more fell in the Divisional round and three others in the Wild Card game. For the Chiefs, the task is to go one step further than the team’s other recent title defense, which saw K.C. race through the regular season, going 14-2, before faceplanting in the Super Bowl (31-9) against Tom Brady and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.  

That task resumes after a one-week sabbatical in a Super Bowl rematch, when Kansas City will look to continue their winning ways against a red-hot Eagles team on Monday Night Football.  

Stay with for all the latest Missouri sports betting news and developments. 



Christopher Boan is a lead writer for, specializing in covering state issues. He has covered sports and sports betting in Arizona for more than seven years, including stops at, the Tucson Weekly and the Green Valley News.

Cited by leading media organizations, such as: